Being Thrifty is Nifty {HOTT}

8 03 2012

I did some thrifting recently with my sister and we totally scored (no more pink pyrex, but I have faith in future thrifting). It was the highlight of my week. Saving money definitely makes us happy! My sister picked up a ridiculously gorgeous set of wine glasses for $10. Check them out here.

We decided to venture out to Westfield, NJ. Laura had never even been and it’s just a short 15-20 minute drive from us! And the town is really cute and has everything you need for a fun shopping day. At the first thrift shop I picked up a tunnel for Ben for $3, a fun yellow spoon for 10 cents, and a mushroom plaque for $1. Exciting stuff.

The second thrift shop had more clothes…and surprisingly NICE clothes! I tried on a fun top from Urban (way too small), and didn’t have time to look around for much more because Ben had a meltdown and our parking meter was expiring in 5 minutes. But I did grab a pretty sweet shirt for $1 by Graham & Spencer. I had never heard of this brand before, but thought it might be pretty high-end. Now I know why I never heard of it…they only sell their clothing at Neiman Marcus and Barney’s. Not my typical trip to the mall. After doing a little research, I’m pretty positive this shirt retails for $100+, making me very very very happy. I hope to get back to this particular shop and really scour the racks for some more great deals!

Tunnel: $3; Mushroom plaque: $1; Spoon: $.10; Graham & Spencer shirt: $1

Please excuse the way I look. I just got back from the zoo (again!) and it was 70 degrees and I am dirty from chasing Ben around in the dirt and sand. But what a perfect day!

I also grabbed this adorable polo shirt at Milk Money, our local kiddie consignment shop. It’s adorable and perfect for spring/summer! Cute little boys clothes are definitely harder to come by in the thrifting/consignment circuit.

Polo shirt - $6

On another note, we just booked our family trip to AMSTERDAM and PARIS! We leave at the end of April, just in time to be there to celebrate my 32nd birthday with the Zbranaks! We will also be there for Queen’s Day. So very excited. So much planning to do!

Happy Thrifting!

Linking up to Harper’s Happenings.

Actions

Information

4 responses

8 03 2012
chrissy

ten cents for that cheerful little coloured spoon? score! i also really love that blouse. very pretty!

8 03 2012
Lisa Moser

My thoughts exactly on the spoon! It’s already brightened up my kitchen 🙂

8 03 2012
tiffany @ see the skyline

i always find great baby clothes for my little boy at thrift stores. those are the easiest steals. 😉 love that little shirt!

8 03 2012
Lisa Moser

I need to keep looking around! Hopefully I’ll get lucky for some more summer clothes for the little guy!

Leave a Reply

